Health Information Technology Advisory Committee (HITAC) History & Highlights

What is the HITAC?

The Health Information Technology Advisory Committee (HITAC) was established in the 21st Century Cures Act (Cures Act) and is governed by the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) which sets forth standards for the formation and use of federal advisory committees.

What does the HITAC do?

The HITAC recommends to the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology policies, standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria. HITAC has focused on four target areas as defined in the Cures Act: Interoperability, Privacy and Security, Patient Access to Information, and Use of Technologies that Support Public Health.

HITAC Member Appointments and Affiliations

32 Members as of January 2020


Congressional Appointments

Two from each party in House/Senate

GAO Appointments

Four patient advocate/consumer members

HHS Appointments


Federal Representatives



8 Subcommittees as of January 2020

ONC Cures Act Proposed Rule Task Forces

  • Information Blocking Task Force
  • Health IT for the Care Continuum Task Force
  • Conditions and Maintenance of Certification Requirements Task Force
  • U.S. Core Data for Interoperability Task Force

Other Subcommittees

  • Trusted Exchange Framework Task Force
  • Trusted Exchange Framework and Common Agreement Task Force
  • Interoperability Standards Priorities Task Force
  • Annual Report Workgroup

217 Total Transmitted Recommendations to the National Coordinator

2019 Subcommittees

  • Information Blocking: 60
  • Health IT for the Care Continuum: 16
  • Conditions and Maintenance of Certification: 36
  • U.S. Core Data for Interoperability – Phase 1: 32, Phase 2: 10
  • Trusted Exchange Framework and Common Agreement – Draft 2: 28

2018 Subcommittees

  • Trusted Exchange Framework: 26
  • U.S. Core Data for Interoperability: 9

Other HITAC Deliverables as of January 2020

Previous Federal Advisory Committees

The work of the previous Health IT Policy Committee and Health IT Standards Committee can be found here:

Content last reviewed on February 12, 2021
Was this page helpful?