Semantic Standards Workgroup

The Semantic Standards Workgroup assured a consistent approach to semantics standards for certified EHR technology (CEHRT) and identified existing standards (vocabularies and/or information models) that could be leveraged for other uses, while ensuring consistent semantic standards across all use cases. This group also identified semantic standards requirements for CEHRT and evaluated new standards or approaches (vocabularies and information models) for representing semantics. Additionally, this group recommended a strategy for maintaining a consistent and sustainable approach to semantic standards and assure consistent linking of semantic standards and content standards.

Member List

  • James Ferguson, Co-Chair, Kaiser Permanente
  • Rebecca D. Kush, Co-Chair, Clinical Data Interchange Standards Consortium (CDISC)
  • John Carter, Member, Apelon, Inc.
  • Todd Cooper, Member, Center for Medical Interoperability
  • Stanley M. Huff, Member, Intermountain Healthcare
  • Rosemary Kennedy, Member, Thomas Jefferson University and eCare Informatics, LLC
  • Harry Rhodes, Member, AHIMA
  • Eric Rose, Member, Intelligent Medical Objects
  • John Speakman, Member, NYU Langone Medical Center
  • Asif Syed, Member, American Medical Association
  • Steve Brown, Ex Officio, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Margaret Haber, Ex Officio, Enterprise Vocabulary Services, National Cancer Institute
  • Betsy Humphreys, Ex Officio, NIH, National Library of Medicine
  • Mitra Rocca, Ex Officio, Food and Drug Administration
  • Andrew Wiesenthal, Liaison Member, Deloitte Consulting, LLP
  • Patricia Greim, Staff Lead, Office of the National Coordinator-Health and Human Services
Content last reviewed on February 16, 2016
Was this page helpful?