Health IT Implementation, Usability and Safety Workgroup

The Health IT Implementation, Usability, and Safety Workgroup will provide input and make recommendations on policy issues and opportunities for improving how health IT is designed, certified, implemented and used to minimize safety risks and leverage data to support improvements in patient care and health outcomes. The Workgroup will consider existing work, including the Institute of Medicine (IOM) report on health IT and patient safety and the FDASIA report on health IT safety and innovation. Examples of issues to be considered include, but are not limited to, safety reporting, certification surveillance, analysis of aggregate data for lessons learned, transparency on usability and safety, and improvements to the certification program.

Member List

  • David W. Bates, Chair, Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Larry Wolf, Co-Chair, Strategic Health Network
  • Joan Ash, Member, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Janey Barnes, Member, User-View, Inc.
  • John Berneike, Member, St. Mark's Family Medicine
  • Bernadette Capili, Member, New York University
  • Michelle Dougherty, Member, RTI International
  • Paul Egerman, Member, Software Entrepreneur
  • Terry Fairbanks, Member, Emergency Physician
  • Tejal Gandhi, Member, National Patient Safety Organization
  • George Hernandez, Member, ICLOPS
  • Robert Jarrin, Member, Qualcomm Incorporated
  • Mike Lardieri, Member, North Shore-LIJ Health System
  • Bennett Lauber, Member, The Usability People, LLC
  • Michele McGlynn, Member, Siemens Healthcare
  • Alisa Ray, Member, Certification Commission for Healthcare Information Technology
  • Steven Stack, Member, American Medical Association
  • Betty Mims Johnson, Ex Officio, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Edwin Lomotan, Ex Officio, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality-Health and Human Services
  • Lana Lowry, Ex Officio, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Megan Sawchuk, Ex Officio, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Jeanie Scott, Ex Officio, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Ellen Makar, Staff Lead, Office of the National Coordinator-Health and Human Services
Content last reviewed on July 23, 2014
Was this page helpful?