Meaningful Use Stage 1 Requirements for Medicaid Incentive Program

The Meaningful Use Stage 1 Requirements for Medicaid Incentive Program inpatient checklist is intended to aid providers and health IT implementers with achieving meaningful use during stage 1. It can be used to assist pediatricians in understanding what is required to receive incentive payments from the US Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Providers are not required to begin participating in the program in 2011; however, providers must begin receiving payments no later than 2016


The material in these guides and tools was developed from the experiences of Regional Extension Center staff in the performance of technical support and EHR implementation assistance to primary care providers. The information contained in this guide is not intended to serve as legal advice nor should it substitute for legal counsel. The guide is not exhaustive, and readers are encouraged to seek additional detailed technical guidance to supplement the information contained herein.

Reference in this web site to any specific resources, tools, products, process, service, manufacturer, or company does not constitute its endorsement or recommendation by the U.S. Government or the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Practice Role
Care Coordinators
Health Care Mgmt - Practice Mgrs Admin
Providers (MDs, DOs, NPs, PAs, RNs, LPNs)
PSR, Schedulers, Front Desk, Med Secretaries
Providers & Professionals
Setting/Practice Type
Critical Access Hospitals and Rural Hospital
Resource Topics
Evaluation and Meaningful Use
Patient and Family Engagement
EHR Steps
Step 5: Achieve Meaningful Use

3 votes with an average rating of 2