Health IT Policy Committee

The prior Health IT Policy Committee has been replaced by the Health IT Advisory Committee.

The Health IT Policy Committee (HITPC) made recommendations to the National Coordinator for Health IT on a policy framework for the development and adoption of a nationwide health information infrastructure, including standards for the exchange of patient medical information. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) provided that the Health IT Policy Committee make recommendations on the areas in which standards, implementation specifications, and certifications criteria are needed. 

Meeting Archive

To obtain materials for meetings prior to January 2018, please visit the archives at and create an account. If you have any questions, please contact

Previous Workgroups

Health IT Policy Workgroups


View the Health IT Policy Committee’s recommendations to the National Coordinator for Health IT.


The Health IT Policy Committee was comprised of:

  • 3 individuals appointed by the Secretary of HHS
  • 13 members appointed by the Acting Comptroller General of the United States
  • 4 members appointed by the Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate and the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives
  • Additional Federal members appointed by the President

Member List


  • Kathleen Blake
    American Medical Association
  • Paul Tang
    IBM Watson Health
  • Members

  • Donna Cryer
    Global Liver Institute
  • Paul Egerman
    Software Entrepreneur
  • James Ferguson
    Kaiser Permanente
  • Scott Gottlieb
    American Enterprise Institute
  • Gayle B. Harrell
    Florida State House of Representatives
  • Anjum Khurshid
    Dell Medical School at the University of Texas at Austin
  • David Kotz
    Dartmouth College
  • Christoph Lehmann
    Vanderbilt School of Medicine
  • Devin Mann
    New York University
  • Aaron Miri*
    The University of Texas at Austin, Dell Medical School and UT Health Austin
  • Aury Nagy
    Las Vegas Neurosurgery & Spine Care
  • Carolyn Petersen^
  • Kim Schofield
    Lupus Foundation of America
  • Troy Seagondollar
    United Nurses Association of California
  • Brent Snyder
    Adventist Health System
  • Karen van Caulil
    Florida Health Care Coalition
  • National Coordinator
    Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology
  • To Be Determined
    Department of Veteran Affairs
  • John Scott
    Department of Defense
  • Content last reviewed on January 8, 2020
    Was this page helpful?