Meaningful Use

To qualify for incentive payments through the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services EHR Incentive Programs, eligible providers and hospitals must demonstrate meaningful use of an electronic health record (EHR). In other words, “meaningful use” sets the specific objectives that eligible professionals and hospitals must achieve to participate in the EHR Incentive Programs.

Stages of Meaningful Use

The meaningful use objectives will evolve in three stages:

  • Stage 1 (2011-2012): Data capture and sharing
  • Stage 2 (2014): Advanced clinical processes
  • Stage 3 (2016): Improved outcomes

For More Information

For more information on meaningful use and how achieving meaningful use can help you improve health care quality and patient outcomes, see the following resources.