What kinds of providers do Regional Extension Centers work with?

The Basics

The Regional Extension Center (REC) program’s focus is to provide on-the-ground assistance for priority primary care providers.

A primary care provider is any doctor of medicine or osteopathy, nurse practitioner, nurse midwife, or physician assistant with prescriptive privileges in the locality where s/he practices family medicine, internal medicine, pediatric medicine, or obstetrics and gynecology.

A priority primary care provider is a primary care provider who practices in:

  • An individual or small practices of 10 providers or less
  • A Community health center, primary care clinic, or rural health clinic
  • A Public or Critical Access Hospital
  • Another setting that predominantly serves uninsured, underinsured, or medically underserved populations

Your Local Regional Extension Center Can Help

RECs are located in every region of the country to help health care providers select, implement, and become adept and meaningful users of electronic health records (EHRs). Contact your local REC to find out if you are eligible for free or reduced-price support.

For More Information

For more information on RECs and how RECs can help you adopt, implement, and meaningfully use EHRs, see the following resources.

Content last reviewed on April 10, 2019
Was this page helpful?