• Print

Standards Advisory

Interoperability Standards Advisory (ISA)

The Interoperability Standards Advisory (ISA) process represents the model by which the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) will coordinate the identification, assessment, and determination of the “best available” interoperability standards and implementation specifications for industry use to fulfill specific clinical health IT interoperability needs. For detailed background on the Advisory, its purpose, and its processes please review the 2015 Advisory.

2016 Interoperability Standards Advisory

The 2016 Interoperability Standards Advisory represents feedback we received from public comment on the 2015 Interoperability Standards Advisory, recommendations from the HIT Standards Committee, and public comments on a draft of the 2016 Interoperability Standards Advisory.  

Per the process first established with the publication of the 2015 Advisory, this document represents the final 2016 Advisory and will now serve as the basis on which public comments are sought to begin the process of developing the 2017 Standards Advisory. 

ONC is accepting public comments for about 60 days and will end at 5 p.m. on Monday, March 21, 2016.  If you need more time to submit comments, please contact Chris Muir at Christopher.Muir@hhs.gov before the March 21, 2016 deadline. Your continued feedback and engagement is critical to improve and refine the Advisory. 

Please note that anything submitted as part of this process will be made public by ONC.

Read More

Draft 2016 Interoperability Standards Advisory

The Draft 2016 Interoperability Standards Advisory (Draft 2016 Advisory) represented feedback we received from public comment on the 2015 Interoperability Standards Advisory and also recommendations from the HIT Standards Committee. ONC accepted public comments on the Draft 2016 Advisory for 45 days that ended on Friday, November 6, 2015.  The public comments were used to update the draft in order to publish the final 2016 Advisory.

Read More

Previous Standards Advisories