Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Alabama	A medical provider may condition the release of medical records upon the payment by the requesting party of the reasonable costs of reproducing the record. The reasonable cost of reproducing written or typed documents may not exceed:	A medical provider may condition the release of medical records upon the payment by the requesting party of the reasonable costs of reproducing the record. The reasonable cost of reproducing written or typed documents may not exceed:	N/A
	• \$1.00 per page for the first 25 pages;	• \$1.00 per page for the first 25 pages;	
	• \$0.50 per page for pages 26 and up;	\$0.50 per page for pages 26 and up;	
	<ul><li>A search fee of \$5.00;</li></ul>	<ul><li>A search fee of \$5.00;</li></ul>	
	plus the actual cost of mailing the record. In addition, the actual costs of reproducing x-rays or other special records may be included.	plus the actual cost of mailing the record. In addition, the actual costs of reproducing x-rays or other special records may be included.	
	Ala. Code § 12-21-6.1 (2008); Ala. Admin. Code r. 545-X-408(2) (2007).	Ala. Code § 12-21-6.1 (2008).	
	Physicians should give primary consideration to the ethical and professional duties owed to other physicians and to their patients, and waive copying charges when appropriate.		
	Ala. Admin. Code r. 545-X-408(2) (2007).		
Alaska	N/A	N/A	N/A

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Arizona	Generally, a health care provider may charge a person who requests copies of medical records or payment records a reasonable fee for the production of the records. Except as necessary for continuity of care, a health care provider or contractor may require the payment of any fees in advance.  Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 12-2295(A) (2008).	Generally, a health care provider or contractor may charge a person who requests copies of medical records or payment records a reasonable fee for the production of the records. Except as necessary for continuity of care, a health care provider or contractor may require the payment of any fees in advance.  Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 12-2295(A) (2008).	N/A
Arkansas	Providers may charge a maximum of:	Providers may charge a maximum of:	N/A
	■ \$0.50 per page for pages 1–25, and	■ \$0.50 per page for pages 1–25, and	
	• \$0.25 per page for pages 26 and up.	\$0.25 per page for pages 26 and up.	
	These fees do not apply to x-rays.	These fees do not apply to x-rays.	
	Providers may impose an additional labor charge up to \$15.00 for each request, as well as the actual cost of any required postage.	Providers may impose an additional labor charge up to \$15.00 for each request, as well as the actual cost of any required postage.	
	A reasonable retrieval fee for records stored at an off-site location may be charged in lieu of the permitted labor charge.	A reasonable retrieval fee for records stored at an off-site location may be charged in lieu of the permitted labor charge.	
	Ark. Code Ann. § 16-46-106 (2008).	Ark. Code Ann. § 16-46-106 (2008).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
California	A health care provider may charge "reasonable clerical costs" incurred in locating and making the records available for inspection.	A health care provider may charge "reasonable clerical costs" incurred in locating and making the records available for inspection.	charge, of the relevant portion of the patient's records in support of an appeal regarding eligibility for a public benefit program.
	Cal. Health & Safety Code § 123110(a) (2008).  Further, a health care provider may charge a fee for copying that may not	Cal. Health & Safety Code § 123110(a) (2008). Further, a health care provider may charge a fee for copying that may not	
	exceed \$0.25 per page or \$0.50 per page for records that are copied from microfilm and any additional reasonable clerical costs incurred in making the records available.	exceed \$0.25 per page or \$0.50 per page for records that are copied from microfilm and any additional reasonable clerical costs incurred in making the records available.	Cal Health & Safety Code § 123110(d) (2008).  If the patient's appeal is successful, the health care provider may bill the patient
	Cal. Health & Safety Code § 123110(b) (2008).	Cal. Health & Safety Code § 123110(b) (2008).	for the copies provided free of charge.  Cal. Health & Safety Code § 123110(e) (2008).

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Colorado	Health care providers may charge reasonable costs for copying patient records.  Colo. Rev. Stat. § 25-1-802(1)(b)(I) (2007).  Reasonable costs for providers are not statutorily defined. However, the Colorado Board of Medical Examiners considers the rules governing copying fees for hospitals and other health facilities to be reasonable guidelines for physicians providing copies of medical records.  See Colorado Board of Medical Examiners, Policy 40-7: "Guidelines Pertaining to the Release and Retention of Medical Records."  Available at: http://www.dora.state.co.us/Medical/policies/40-07.pdf.	Inspecting records Hospitals may not charge discharged patients or their representatives for inspecting patient records.  6 Colo. Code Regs. § 1011-1, chap. II, 5.2.2.2; and 5.2.3.3 (2008).  Copying records  A hospital may charge the patient or their personal representative the reasonable cost of copying the patient's record. Reasonable costs may not exceed:  \$14.00 for the first 10 pages, \$0.50 per page for pages 11–40, \$0.33 per page for pages 41 and up, and \$1.50 per page for records copied from microfilm.  A hospital may also charge actual postage or shipping costs and applicable sales tax, if any.  Colo. Rev. Stat. § 25-1-801(b)(I) (2007); 6 Colo. Code Regs. § 1011-1, chap. II, 5.2.3.4 (2008).	N/A

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Connecticut	Effective October, 2008, a provider may charge no more than \$0.65 per page, "including any research fees, handling fees or related costs" for furnishing a health record in response to a patient's request. The cost of first class postage, if applicable, may also be charged to the patient. With respect to furnishing a copy of an x-ray, a provider may charge the amount necessary to cover the cost of materials.  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 20-7c(c) (2008).	A hospital may not charge more than \$0.65 per page, including any research fees, clerical fees, handling fees or related costs for furnishing or providing access to a health record in response to a patient's request. The cost of first class postage, if applicable, may also be charged.  A hospital may charge the amount necessary to cover its cost of materials for furnishing a copy of an x-ray or for furnishing an original retained slide, an original tissue block, or a new section cut from a retained pathology tissue block.  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 19a-490b(a) (2008).  A hospital may not deny a person access to a copy of their records because of the person's inability to pay the required fees. An affidavit from the person attesting to an inability to pay such fees is presumptive evidence of their inability to pay.  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 19a-490b(d) (2008).	Health care providers and health care institutions, including hospitals, may not charge for furnishing a health record (or part of a record) to a patient his attorney or conservator if the record is necessary for supporting a claim or appeal under any provision of the Social Security Act and the request is accompanied by documentation of the claim or appeal.  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-7c(c) (2008); 19a-490b(a) (2008).
Delaware	The health care provider's fee for copying the records must be reasonable. The health care provider may require prepayment if the provider gives written notice of requirement within 14 days of receipt of request.	The health care provider's fee for copying the records must be reasonable. The health care provider may require prepayment if the provider gives written notice of requirement within 14 days of receipt of request.	N/A
	Del. Code Ann. tit. 10, § 3926(a) (2008).	Del. Code Ann. tit. 10, § 3926(a) (2008).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
A licensed physician may charge a reasonable fee for duplicating records and the fee may be required prior to providing the records in non-emergency situations.  D.C. Mun. Regs. tit. 17, § 4612.2(b)	N/A	N/A
MDs may condition the release of patient medical records upon payment of the reasonable costs of reproducing the records (written or typed documents or reports), which may not be more than the following:  \$ 1.00 per page for the first 25 pages; and  \$ 90.25 per page for pages 26 and up. Providers may charge the actual cost of reproducing other special kinds of records.  Fla. Admin. Code Ann. 64B8-10.003 (2008).	Hospitals may charge up to \$1.00 per page for paper records.  For nonpaper records, a hospital may charge up to \$2.00 per page.  Hospitals may also charge may also charge a fee of up to \$1.00 for each year of records requested, as well as sales tax and actual postage.  Fla. Stat. Ann. § 395.3025(1) (2008).  A patient whose records are copied or searched for the purpose of continuing to receive medical care is not required to pay a charge for copying or for the search.	N/A
	Medical Doctors (MDs)  A licensed physician may charge a reasonable fee for duplicating records and the fee may be required prior to providing the records in non-emergency situations.  D.C. Mun. Regs. tit. 17, § 4612.2(b) (2008).  MDs may condition the release of patient medical records upon payment of the reasonable costs of reproducing the records (written or typed documents or reports), which may not be more than the following:  \$1.00 per page for the first 25 pages; and  \$0.25 per page for pages 26 and up. Providers may charge the actual cost of reproducing other special kinds of records.  Fla. Admin. Code Ann. 64B8-10.003	A licensed physician may charge a reasonable fee for duplicating records and the fee may be required prior to providing the records in non-emergency situations.  D.C. Mun. Regs. tit. 17, § 4612.2(b) (2008).  MDs may condition the release of patient medical records upon payment of the reasonable costs of reproducing the records (written or typed documents or reports), which may not be more than the following:  \$\begin{align*} \text{Hospitals} \text{ My/A} \\  Hospitals may charge up to \$1.00 per page for paper records, a hospital may charge up to \$2.00 per page.  Hospitals may charge up to \$1.00 per page charge up to \$2.00 per page.  Hospitals may charge up to \$1.00 for each year of records requested, as well as sales tax and actual postage.  \$\begin{align*} \text{Hospitals} \text{ My/A} \\  Fla. Stat. Ann. § 395.3025(1) (2008).  A patient whose records are copied or searched for the purpose of continuing to receive medical care is not required to pay a charge for copying or for the

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Georgia	As of July 2007, a health care provider may charge of up to:	As of July 2007, a health care provider may charge of up to:	The general copying fee schedule does not apply to
	<ul> <li>\$24.86 for search and retrieval of the record. In addition, for copies of paper records, the provider may charge a maximum of</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>\$24.86 for search and retrieval of the record. In addition, for copies of paper records, the provider may charge a maximum of</li> </ul>	records requested in order to make or complete an application for a disability benefits program.
	<ul> <li>\$0.93 per page for pages 1–20</li> <li>\$0.80 per page for pages 21–100</li> <li>\$0.63 per page for pages 101 and up</li> </ul>	<ul><li>\$0.93 per page for pages 1–20</li><li>\$0.80 per page for pages 21–100</li><li>\$0.63 per page for pages 101 and up</li></ul>	Ga. Code Ann. § 31-33-3(a) (2008).
	<ul> <li>plus the actual cost of postage and mailing.</li> </ul>	plus the actual cost of postage and mailing.	
	The Office of Planning and Budget may adjust these costs annually, effective July 1 of each year.	The Office of Planning and Budget may adjust these costs annually, effective July 1 of each year.	
	Ga. Code Ann. § 31-33-3(a); GA, Office of Planning and Budget 07/02/07, available at	Ga. Code Ann. § 31-33-3(a); GA, Office of Planning and Budget 07/02/07, available at	
	http://www.opb.state.ga.us/media/2299/medical_records_letter_2007.pdf (accessed September 12, 2008).	http://www.opb.state.ga.us/media/2299/ medical_records_letter_2007.pdf (accessed September 12, 2008).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Guam	N/A	The Guam Memorial Hospital Authority is charged with establishing and modifying reasonable rates, fees, and charges for its services, medications, and supplies. Established rates may be increased by the Board of Trustees up to 5% per year.	N/A
		Guam Code Ann. tit. 10, § 80105 (2007).	
		Copying fees for hospital records as of June 2008, are as follows:	
		\$18.92 for pages 1–10; and	
		\$1.85 per page for pages 11 and up.	
		See Guam Memorial Hospital Authority, Official Fee Schedule, <a href="http://www.gmha.org/GMHA_Fee_Sechdule_Page.html">http://www.gmha.org/GMHA_Fee_Sechdule_Page.html</a> (accessed September 12, 2008).	
Hawaii	A health care provider may charge the patient reasonable costs incurred in making the copies.	A health care provider may charge the patient reasonable costs incurred in making the copies.	N/A
	Haw. Rev. Stat. § 622-57(g) (2008).	Haw. Rev. Stat. § 622-57(g) (2008).	
Idaho	N/A	N/A	N/A

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
As of May 2008, health care practitioners are permitted to charge the following rates as reimbursement for reasonable expenses, including the costs of independent copy services companies, incurred in connection with copying the patient's record:	As of May 2008, health care facilities are permitted to charge the following rates as reimbursement for reasonable expenses, including the costs of independent copy services companies, incurred in connection with copying the patient's record:	N/A
\$23.78 handling charge;	\$23.78 handling charge;	
■ \$0.89 per page for pages 1–25;	■ \$0.89 per page for pages 1–25;	
• \$0.59 per page for pages 26–50;	• \$0.59 per page for pages 26–50;	
<ul><li>\$0.30 per page for pages 51 and up; and</li></ul>	<ul><li>\$0.30 per page for pages 51 and up; and</li></ul>	
<ul> <li>\$1.49 per page for copies made from microfiche or microfilm.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>\$1.49 per page for copies made from microfiche or microfilm.</li> </ul>	
These fees are automatically increased or decreased, as applicable, based on the "consumer price index-u" published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor, and determined by the Illinois Comptroller.	These fees are automatically increased or decreased, as applicable, based on the "consumer price index-u" published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor, and determined by the Illinois Comptroller.	
735 III. Comp. Stat. 5/8-2001 and 5/8-2006. See Daniel W. Hynes—Illinois State Comptroller, Annual adjustment of copying fees as required under 735 ILCS 5/8, <a href="http://www.ioc.state.il.us/office/fees.cfm">http://www.ioc.state.il.us/office/fees.cfm</a>	735 III. Comp. Stat. 5/8-2001 and 5/8-2006. See Daniel W. Hynes—Illinois State Comptroller, Annual adjustment of copying fees as required under 735 ILCS 5/8, <a href="http://www.ioc.state.il.us/office/fees.cfm">http://www.ioc.state.il.us/office/fees.cfm</a>	
	As of May 2008, health care practitioners are permitted to charge the following rates as reimbursement for reasonable expenses, including the costs of independent copy services companies, incurred in connection with copying the patient's record:  • \$23.78 handling charge;  • \$0.89 per page for pages 1–25;  • \$0.59 per page for pages 26–50;  • \$0.30 per page for pages 51 and up; and  • \$1.49 per page for copies made from microfiche or microfilm.  These fees are automatically increased or decreased, as applicable, based on the "consumer price index-u" published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor, and determined by the Illinois Comptroller.  735 III. Comp. Stat. 5/8-2001 and 5/8-2006. See Daniel W. Hynes—Illinois State Comptroller, Annual adjustment of copying fees as required under 735 ILCS 5/8,	As of May 2008, health care practitioners are permitted to charge the following rates as reimbursement for reasonable expenses, including the costs of independent copy services companies, incurred in connection with copying the patient's record:  • \$23.78 handling charge; • \$0.89 per page for pages 1–25; • \$0.59 per page for pages 26–50; • \$0.30 per page for pages 51 and up; and  • \$1.49 per page for copies made from microfiche or microfilm.  These fees are automatically increased or decreased, as applicable, based on the "consumer price index-u" published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor, and determined by the Illinois Comptroller.  735 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/8-2001 and 5/8-2006. See Daniel W. Hynes—Illinois State Comptroller, Annual adjustment of copying fees as required under 735 ILCS 5/8, http://www.ioc.state.il.us/office/fees.cfm

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Indiana	A provider may not charge more than the maximum copying fees set by the Dept. of Insurance. Under current rules, the provider (or medical record company) may charge up to:	A provider may not charge more than the maximum copying fees set by the Dept. of Insurance. Under current rules, the provider (or medical record company) may charge up to:	N/A
	■ \$1.00 per page for pages 1–10;	■ \$1.00 per page for pages 1–10;	
	• \$0.50 per page for pages 11–50; and	<ul> <li>\$0.50 per page for pages 11–50; and</li> </ul>	
	• \$0.25 per page for pages 51 and up.	\$0.25 per page for pages 51 and up.	
	They may also charge a labor fee of \$20.00 which includes the cost of the first 10 pages of the record.	They may also charge a labor fee of \$20.00 which includes the cost of the first 10 pages of the record.	
	In addition, they may charge the actual costs of mailing the medical record.	In addition, they may charge the actual costs of mailing the medical record.	
	If an individual requests that copies be provided within 2 working days, an additional \$10.00 may be charged.	If an individual requests that copies be provided within 2 working days, an additional \$10.00 may be charged.	
	The maximum fee for certifying a medical record is \$20.00.	The maximum fee for certifying a medical record is \$20.00.	
	Burns Ind. Code Ann. § 16-39-9-2 (2008) (limiting providers to maximum fees set by Dept. of Ins.) § 16-39-9-4 (2008) (delegating authority to Dept. of Insurance); 760 Ind. Admin. Code 1-71-3 (2008) (setting fees).	Burns Ind. Code Ann. § 16-39-9-2 (2008) (limiting providers to maximum fees set by Dept. of Ins.) § 16-39-9-4 (2008) (delegating authority to Dept. of Insurance); 760 Ind. Admin. Code 1-71-3 (2008) (setting fees).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Indiana (cont.)	Providers must consider waiving or reducing the charges for copies of a patient's medical record when the patient requested the records for his or her own use, and the charges will cause an undue financial hardship upon the patient.  760 Ind. Admin. Code 1-71-4 (2008).	Providers must consider waiving or reducing the charges for copies of a patient's medical record when the patient requested the records for his or her own use, and the charges will cause an undue financial hardship upon the patient.  760 Ind. Admin. Code 1-71-4 (2008).	N/A
Iowa	Iowa does not have a statute or regulation that specifically sets fees for copies of medical records. However, Iowa's Standards of Practice and Principles of Medical Ethics (Ch. 13) state, "Any fee charged by a physician shall be reasonable."	N/A	N/A
	Iowa Admin. Code r. 653-13.20(2) (2008).		

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Kansas	A health care provider may charge fees for providing a copy of the record. The provider may condition the furnishing of the health care records on payment of the copying charges. The Secretary of Labor adjusts the maximum copying fees allowed every January.	A health care provider may charge fees for providing a copy of the record. The provider may condition the furnishing of the health care records on payment of the copying charges. The Secretary of Labor adjusts the maximum copying fees allowed every January.	N/A
	Kan. Stat. Ann. § 65-4971 (2007).	Kan. Stat. Ann. § 65-4971 (2007).	
	During 2008, a health care provider may charge no more than:	During 2008, a health care provider may charge no more than:	
	\$17.50 for the costs of labor;	\$17.50 for the costs of labor;	
	• \$0.58 per page for pages 1–250; and	■ \$0.58 per page for pages 1–250; and	
	• \$0.41 per page for pages 251 and up.	• \$0.41 per page for pages 251 and up.	
	See Kansas Department of Labor announcement, available at <a href="http://www.dol.ks.gov/home/html/MedicalRecordFees.pdf">http://www.dol.ks.gov/home/html/MedicalRecordFees.pdf</a> (accessed August 6, 2008).	See Kansas Department of Labor announcement, available at <a href="http://www.dol.ks.gov/home/html/MedicalRecordFees.pdf">http://www.dol.ks.gov/home/html/MedicalRecordFees.pdf</a> (accessed August 6, 2008).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Kentucky	The first copy of the patient's medical record must be provided without charge to the patient.	The first copy of the patient's medical record must be provided without charge to the patient.	N/A
	A copying fee, not to exceed \$1.00 per page, may be charged for furnishing a second copy of the patient's medical record to the patient, the patient's attorney, or the patient's authorized representative.	A copying fee, not to exceed \$1.00 per page, may be charged for furnishing a second copy of the patient's medical record to the patient's attorney or the patient's authorized representative.  Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann § 422.317(1) (2008).	
	Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann § 422.317(1) (2008).	•	
Louisiana	A health care provider may charge no more than the following copying fees:	A health care provider may charge no more than the following copying fees:	N/A
	<ul> <li>\$1.00 per page for pages 1–25,</li> </ul>	■ \$1.00 per page for pages 1–25,	
	• \$0.50 per page for pages 26–500, and	• \$0.50 per page for pages 26–500, and	
	• \$0.25 per page for pages 501 and up.	• \$0.25 per page for pages 501 and up.	
	In addition, the provider may charge actual postage and no more than \$15.00 as a handling fee.	In addition, a hospital may charge actual postage and no more than \$15.00 as a handling fee.	
	La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40:1299.96(A)(2)(b) (2008).	La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 40:2144(D) (2008) (reasonable cost); Dept. of Health and Hospitals, Hospital Licensing Standards, Final Rule, 29 La. Reg. 2399, 2415 (Nov. 20, 2003) (to be codified at La. Admin. Code 48:1. Ch. 93) (adopting copying fees set in § 40:1299.96); La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40:1299.96(A)(2)(b) (setting \$ amount for fees).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Maine	A health care practitioner may charge the reasonable cost of making and providing copies of a patient's treatment record. These charges may not exceed \$10.00 for the first page and \$0.35 for each additional page.  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 22, § 1711-A	A hospital may charge the reasonable cost of making and providing copies of the patient's medical record. These charges may not exceed \$10.00 for the first page and \$0.35 for each additional page. A hospital may require payment prior to releasing the records.	N/A
	(2008).	Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 22, § 1711 (2008).	
Maryland	As of September 2007, a health care provider may charge no more than the following for copying and mailing a patient's medical record:	As of September 2007, a health care provider may charge no more than the following for copying and mailing a patient's medical record:	N/A
	• \$0.69 per page;	• \$0.69 per page;	
	\$21.00 preparation fee; and	\$21.00 preparation fee; and	
	<ul> <li>Actual cost of postage and handling.</li> </ul>	Actual cost of postage and handling.	
	These copying fees are subject to annual adjustment.	These copying fees are subject to annual adjustment.	
	See Md. Code Ann., Health–Gen. §§ 4-304(c)(1), (c)(3), (c)(4) (2008); See also Maryland Board of Physicians, <a href="http://www.mbp.state.md.us/pages/faq_records.htm">http://www.mbp.state.md.us/pages/faq_records.htm</a> (accessed September 11, 2008).	See Md. Code Ann., Health–Gen. §§ 4-304(c)(1), (c)(3), (c)(4) (2008); See also Maryland Board of Physicians, <a href="http://www.mbp.state.md.us/pages/faqrecords.htm">http://www.mbp.state.md.us/pages/faqrecords.htm</a> (accessed September 11, 2008).	

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Securit or Other Public Benefits MDs and Hospitals
Massachusetts	Providers may charge a reasonable copying fee. As of 2004, a reasonable fee was:	Hospitals may charge a reasonable copying fee. As of 2004, a reasonable fee was:	Health care providers and hospitals may not charge any applicant or beneficiary (or
	• \$15.00 base charge;	• \$15.00 base charge;	their representative) for furnishing a record if the
	■ \$0.50 per page for pages 1–100; and	■ \$0.50 per page for pages 1–100; and	record is requested for the
	• \$0.25 per page for pages 101 and up.	\$0.25 per page for pages 101 and up.	purpose of supporting a clair
	The permissible maximum charges for a reasonable fee may be adjusted annually each year based on the consumer price index for medical care services.	The permissible maximum charges for a reasonable fee may be adjusted annually each year based on the consumer price index for medical care services.	or appeal under any provision of the Social Security Act or any federal or state financial needs-based benefit program. The person requesting free records must present reasonable documentation at the time of such records request that the purpose of request is to support a claim appeal under a needs-based benefit program.  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 111, § (2008).
	Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 112, § 12CC and ch. 111, § 70 (2008).  The permissible maximum charges for a reasonable fee may be adjusted annually each year based on the consumer price index for medical care services.  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 112, § 12CC and ch. 111, § 70 (2008). [Note: It does not appear that the fees have officially been adjusted since 2004.]  An additional fee may be charged to cover postage, other priority mailing, and preparation of an explanation or summary if so requested.  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 111, § 70 (2008).	Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 111, § 70 (2008). The permissible maximum charges for a reasonable fee may be adjusted annually each year based on the consumer price index for medical care services.  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 112, § 12CC and ch. 111, § 70 (2008). [Note: It does not appear that the fees have officially been adjusted since 2004.]  An additional fee may be charged to cover postage, other priority mailing, and preparation of an explanation or summary if so requested.  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 111, § 70 (2008).	

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Securit or Other Public Benefits MDs and Hospitals
Michigan	A health care provider or health facility may charge fees for copying a record, as well as postage and shipping costs. Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269 (2008).	A health care facility may charge fees for copying a record, as well as postage and shipping costs. Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269 (2008).	N/A
	These fees are adjusted annually by the Department of Community Health to reflect the cumulative annual percentage change in the Detroit consumer price index.  Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(6)	These fees are adjusted annually by the Department of Community Health to reflect the cumulative annual percentage change in the Detroit consumer price index. Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(6) (2008).  Effective April 1, 2008, the maximum fees for paper copies made pursuant to patient requests were:	
	(2008).  Effective April 1, 2008, the maximum fees for paper copies made pursuant to patient		
	requests were:	<ul><li>\$1.08 per page for pages 1–20;</li></ul>	
	• \$1.08 per page for pages 1–20;	<ul> <li>\$0.54 per page for pages 21–50; and</li> </ul>	
	• \$0.54 per page for pages 21–50; and	\$0.22 per page for pages 51 and up.	
	<ul> <li>\$0.22 per page for pages 51 and up.</li> <li>See State of Michigan, Department of Community Health, "Consumer Price Index Increase of Medical Records Access Fees," available at <a href="http://www.michigan.gov/documents/2006memofromdirectorreflectingCPlincrease2">http://www.michigan.gov/documents/2006memofromdirectorreflectingCPlincrease2</a></li></ul>	See State of Michigan, Department of Community Health, "Consumer Price Index Increase of Medical Records Access Fees," available at <a href="http://www.michigan.gov/documents/20">http://www.michigan.gov/documents/20</a> <a href="http://www.michigan.gov/documents/20">O6memofromdirectorreflectingCPlincreas</a> <a href="http://www.michigan.gov/documents/20">e2 154629 7.pdf</a> (accessed July 24, 2008).  A health care facility may charge their actual costs if the record is in some form or medium other than paper.	

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Michigan (cont.)	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(1)(c)(e) (2008).	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(c)(e) (2008).	N/A
	A health care provider may charge the actual cost for retrieving medical records if they are 7 years or older and not maintained or accessible on-site.	A health care facility may charge the actual cost for retrieving medical records if they are 7 years or older and not maintained or accessible on-site.	
	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(1)(e) and (3) (2008).	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(1)(e) and (3) (2008).	
	Medically indigent persons	Medically indigent persons	
	A "medically indigent person" is entitled to one free set of copies of their medical records from each of their health care providers and health care facilities.	A "medically indigent person" is entitled to one free set of copies of their medical records from each of their health care providers and health care facilities.	
	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(3) and (4) (2008).	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(3) and (4) (2008).	
	A "medically indigent individual" is an individual who receives family independence program benefits, supplemental security income, or state supplementation.	A "medically indigent individual" is an individual who receives family independence program benefits, supplemental security income, or state supplementation.	
	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26263(k) (2008) (defining "medically indigent person" as the term is defined in § 106 of the Social Welfare Act, Mich. Comp. Laws § 400.106 (2008)).	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26263(k) (2008) (defining "medically indigent person" as the term is defined in § 106 of the Social Welfare Act, Mich. Comp. Laws § 400.106 (2008)).	
	The health care provider may require proof that the individual is the recipient of such assistance.	The health care provider may require proof that the individual is the recipient of such assistance.	
	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(3) (2008).	Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.26269(3) (2008).	

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Minnesota	No charge is permitted when a patient requests a copy of the patient's record for purposes of reviewing current medical care.  Minn. Stat. § 144.292, subd. 6 (2007).	No charge is permitted when a patient requests a copy of the patient's record for purposes of reviewing current medical care.  Minn. Stat. § 144.292, subd. 6 (2007).	Generally, providers may not charge a patient or the patient's authorized representative a fee for initial copy of record to support an
	Otherwise, MN statute sets a maximum amount providers may charge for records. These charges are adjusted annually each year based on the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers, Minneapolis-St. Paul (CPI-U), published by the Department of Labor.	Otherwise, MN statute sets a maximum amount providers may charge for records. These charges are adjusted annually each year based on the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers, Minneapolis-St. Paul (CPI-U), published by the Department of Labor.	appeal of a denial of Social Security disability income or Social Security disability benefits under title II or title XVI of the Social Security Act. For the purpose of further appeals, a patient may receive no more than two medical
	Minn. Stat. § 144.292, subd. 6 (2007).	Minn. Stat. § 144.292, subd. 6 (2007).	record updates without charge
	The 2008 maximum charges are	The 2008 maximum charges are	but only for medical record
	<ul><li>\$1.18 per page copied, plus</li></ul>	\$1.18 per page, plus	information previously not provided. For purposes of this
	<ul> <li>\$15.44 for time spent retrieving and copying the record.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>\$15.44 for time spent retrieving and copying the record.</li> </ul>	paragraph, a patient's authorized representative do not include units of state government engaged in the adjudication of Social Securi disability claims.  Minn. Stat. § 144.292, subd 6(d) (2007).
	Fees are set by the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH).	Fees are set by the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH).	
	See Center for Health Care Purchasing Improvement: Issue Brief 2008-1 at:	See Center for Health Care Purchasing Improvement: Issue Brief 2008-1 at:	
	http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/dap/maxcharge09.pdf (accessed September 16, 2008).	http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/dap/maxcharge09.pdf (accessed September 16, 2008).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Mississippi	A medical provider may charge for copying medical records. The maximum copying fees are as follows:	A hospital may charge for copying medical records. The maximum copying fees are as follows:	N/A
	• \$20.00 for pages 1–20,	■ \$20.00 for pages 1–20,	
	<ul> <li>\$1.00 per page for pages 21–100, and</li> </ul>	• \$1.00 per page for pages 21–100, and	
	<ul> <li>\$0.50 per page for pages 101 and up.</li> <li>In addition, 10% of total charge may be added for postage and handling.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>\$0.50 per page for pages 101 and up.</li> <li>In addition, 10% of total charge may be added for postage and handling.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>\$15.00 for retrieving off-site medical records.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>\$15.00 for retrieving off-site medical records.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>\$25.00 for medical record affidavit.</li> </ul>	\$25.00 for medical record affidavit.	
	Miss. Code Ann. § 11-1-52 (2008); 50-	Miss. Code Ann. § 11-1-52 (2008).	
	013-001 Miss. Code R., Art. XII (F) (2008).	With respect to copying fees, hospitals are also required under state law to	
	With respect to copying fees, physicians are also required under state law to	comply with HIPAA (which does not permit retrieval fees).	
	comply with HIPAA (which does not permit retrieval fees).	See Miss. Code Ann. § 11-1-52(4) (2008).	
	See Miss. Code Ann. § 11-1-52(4) (2008).	•	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Missouri	As of February 1, 2008, a physician may charge the following fees:	As of February 1, 2008, a hospital may charge the following fees:	N/A
	<ul> <li>A copying charge of not more than \$19.31 plus \$0.46 per page for the cost of supplies and labor;</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>A copying charge of not more than \$19.31 plus \$0.46 per page for the cost of supplies and labor;</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>A postage charge, including packaging and delivery costs; and</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>A postage charge, including packaging and delivery costs; and</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>A notary fee, not to exceed \$2.00, if requested.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>A notary fee, not to exceed \$2.00, if requested.</li> </ul>	
	These fees are adjusted on February 1st of each year by the Department of Health and Senior Services.	These fees are adjusted on February 1st of each year by the Department of Health and Senior Services.	
	Mo. Rev. Stat. § 191.227 (2008). Dept. of Health and Senior Services, Fees for Medical Records, available at: <a href="http://www.dhss.mo.gov/ProtectingThePublic/FeesMedicalRecords">http://www.dhss.mo.gov/ProtectingThePublic/FeesMedicalRecords</a> (accessed June 24, 2008).	Mo. Rev. Stat. § 191.227 (2008). Dept. of Health and Senior Services, Fees for Medical Records, available at: <a href="http://www.dhss.mo.gov/ProtectingThePublic/FeesMedicalRecords">http://www.dhss.mo.gov/ProtectingThePublic/FeesMedicalRecords</a> (accessed June 24, 2008).	
	A physician is permitted to charge for the reasonable cost of duplicating items that cannot be copied on a standard photocopy machine.	A hospital is permitted to charge for the reasonable cost of duplicating items that cannot be copied on a standard photocopy machine.	
	Mo. Rev. Stat. § 191.227 (2008).	Mo. Rev. Stat. § 191.227 (2008).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Montana	All Health Care Providers	All Health Care Providers	N/A
	Health care providers are permitted to charge a reasonable fee for providing copies of health care information that may not exceed \$0.50 for each page for a paper copy or photocopy. A reasonable fee may include an administrative fee that may not exceed \$15.00 for searching and handling recorded health care information. Mont. Code Ann. §§ 50-16-540 (2007); 50-16-816 (2007).	Health care providers are permitted to charge a reasonable fee for providing copies of health care information that may not exceed \$0.50 for each page for a paper copy or photocopy. A reasonable fee may include an administrative fee that may not exceed \$15.00 for searching and handling recorded health care information.  Mont. Code Ann. §§ 50-16-540 (2007); 50-16-816 (2007).	
Nebraska	For copying medical records, a physician may charge a patient no more than \$20.00 as a handling fee and no more than \$0.50 per page for copying costs.  For copies of medical records that cannot routinely be copied on a standard photocopy machine, a doctor may charge	For copying medical records, a hospital may charge a patient no more than \$20.00 as a handling fee and no more than \$0.50 per page for copying costs.  For copies of medical records that cannot routinely be copied on a standard photocopy machine, a hospital may	Physicians and hospitals may not charge a copying fee when a patient requests medical records to support an application (or appeal of a denial of an application) for benefits from certain state or
	a reasonable copying cost.	charge a reasonable copying cost.	federal assistance programs.
	Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-8404 (2008).	Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-8404 (2008).	Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-8405 (2008).

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Nevada	Providers may charge no more than \$0.60 per page for copying health care records. They may also charge the patient for the actual cost of postage. Health care providers may not, however, charge administrative fees or other service fees for furnishing copies of health care records.  Nev. Rev. Stat. § 629.061 (2007).	Providers may charge no more than \$0.60 per page for copying health care records. They may also charge the patient for the actual cost of postage. Health care providers may not, however, charge administrative fees or other service fees for furnishing copies of health care records.  Nev. Rev. Stat. § 629.061 (2007).	Health care providers may not charge a patient or his representative for furnishing a copy of records that are necessary to support a claim o appeal under any provision of the Social Security Act or under any federal or state financial needs-based benefit program. The request must be accompanied by documentation of the claim/appeal.
			A copying fee (not to exceed \$0.60 per page for photocopies or a "reasonable cost" for copies of x-rays and similar materials) may be charged for a second copy of those records used to support the same claim/appeal. However, health care providers may not refuse to furnish a copy of the records for this purpose solely because the patient is unable to pay the copying fees incurred.
			Nev. Rev. Stat. § 629.061 (2007).

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
New Hampshire	For copying a patient's medical records, a physician may not charge more than:	For copying a patient's medical records, a hospital may not charge more than:	N/A
	• \$15.00 for pages 1–30; or	■ \$15.00 for pages 1–30; or	
	• \$0.50 per page, whichever is greater.	\$0.50 per page, whichever is greater.	
	N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 332-I:1 (LexisNexis 2008).	N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 151.21(X), 332- I:1 (LexisNexis 2008).	
	A physician may not delay the release of medical records because the patient has not paid copying and transmittal costs.		
	N.H. Code Admin. R. Ann. Med 501.02(f)(4) (2008).		

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
New Jersey	A physician may charge a fee for the reproduction of records. The fee cannot be greater than \$1.00 per page or \$100.00 for the entire record, whichever is less. If the record requested is less than 10 pages, the physician may charge up to \$10.00 to cover postage and the miscellaneous costs associated with retrieval of the record. If the physician elects to provide a summary in lieu of the actual record, the charge for the summary cannot exceed the cost that would be charged for the actual record.	A hospital may charge a fee for copying based on its actual cost, which cannot exceed \$1.00 per page or \$100.00 per record for the first 100 pages. For records that contain more than 100 pages, a copying fee of no more than \$0.25 per page may be charged for pages in excess of the first 100 pages, up to a maximum of \$200.00 for the entire record. In addition, a hospital may charge a search fee of \$10.00 per request. A hospital is also permitted to charge for the actual costs for mailing.	N/A
	N.J. Admin. Code § 13:35-6.5 (c)(4) (2008).	N.J. Admin. Code § 8:43G-15.3(d)(1) and (2) (2008).  However, the hospital must have a policy assuring access to copies of medical	
		records for patients who do not have the ability to pay.  N.J. Admin. Code § 8:43G-15.3(d)(3) (2008).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
New Mexico	A physician may charge a patient for copying medical records no more than:  • \$15.00 for pages 1–15, and  • \$0.10 per page for pages 16 and up.  N.M. Code R. § 16.10.17.8 (B) (2008).	N/A	A health care provider may charge a reasonable fee for copying and furnishing medical records requested by a person applying for Social Security disability benefits or appealing denial of such benefits (or by the person's authorized representative).  The maximum fee permitted is:  \$2.00 per page for pages 1–10 (one-sided), and  \$0.20 per page for pages 11 and up.  N.M. Stat. Ann. § 14-6-3 (2008); N.M. Code R. § 7.1.10.10 (2008).

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
New York	For paper copies, a provider may not charge in excess of \$0.75 per page. N.Y. Pub. Health Law § 18 (2)(e) (2008). See also, McCrossan v. Buffalo Heart Group, 695 N.Y.S. 2d 852 (N.Y. App. Div. 1999) (holding that because a hospital may not charge more than \$0.75 per page, it could not charge a \$15 clerical fee; it was permitted to charge for the actual cost of shipping records and for sales tax).	For paper copies, a provider may not charge in excess of \$0.75 per page. N.Y. Pub. Health Law § 18 (2)(e) (2008). See also, McCrossan v. Buffalo Heart Group, 695 N.Y.S. 2d 852 (N.Y. App. Div. 1999) (holding that a hospital may not charge more than \$0.75 per page, so could not charge a \$15 clerical fee; it was permitted to charge for the actual cost of shipping records and for sales tax).	N/A
	A qualified person may not be denied access to patient information solely because of an inability to pay the copying fees.	A qualified person may not be denied access to patient information solely because of an inability to pay the copying fees.	
	N.Y. Pub. Health Law § 18 (2)(e) (2008).	N.Y. Pub. Health Law § 18 (2)(e) (2008).	

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
North Carolina	North Carolina sets maximum fees for copying medical records requested by patients for personal injury liability claims and claims for Social Security disability benefits. The maximum fees that a health care provider may charge when records are requested for these purposes are as follows:	A hospital is permitted to charge for the cost of reproducing copies.  OA N.C. Admin. Code 13B.3904 (2008).  North Carolina sets maximum fees for copying medical records requested by patients for personal injury liability claims and claims for Social Security disability	The maximum fees that a health care provider may charge when records are requested by patients for claims for Social Security disability benefits are as follows:
	<ul> <li>\$0.75 per page for pages 1–25 pages,</li> <li>\$0.50 per page for pages 26–100, and</li> <li>\$0.25 for pages 101 and up.</li> <li>Alternatively, a health care provider may charge a minimum fee of up to \$10.00 for copying records. This minimum fee is in lieu of the per page fee.</li> <li>N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-411 (2008).</li> </ul>	benefits. The maximum fees that a health care provider may charge when records are requested for these purposes are as follows:  • \$0.75 per page for pages 1–25,	<ul> <li>\$0.75 per pages 1–25 pages,</li> <li>\$0.50 per page for pages 26–100, and</li> <li>\$0.25 for pages101 and u Alternatively, a health care provider may charge a minimum fee of up to \$10.00</li> </ul>
		Alternatively, a health care provider may charge a minimum fee of up to \$10.00 for copying records. This minimum fee is in lieu of the per page fee.  N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-411 (2008).	for copying records. This minimum fee is in lieu of the per page fee.  N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-411 (2008).
North Dakota	The health care provider may charge no more than:	The health care provider may charge no more than:	N/A
	■ \$20.00 for pages 1–25, and	<ul><li>\$20.00 for pages 1–25, and</li></ul>	
	• \$0.75 per page for pages 26 and up.	\$0.75 per page for pages 26 and up.	
	These charges include any administration fee, retrieval fee, and postage expense.	These charges include any administration fee, retrieval fee, and postage expense.	
	N.D. Cent. Code § 23-12-14(2) (2008).	N.D. Cent. Code § 23-12-14(2) (2008).	

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Ohio	As of June, 2008, a health care provider and medical records company may charge a patient or the patient's personal representative no more than the following fees for copies of medical records:	As of June, 2008, a health care provider and medical records company may charge a patient or the patient's personal representative no more than the following fees for copies of medical records:	A health care provider must provide without charge one copy of a medical record, and one copy of any records regarding treatment
	With respect to data recorded on paper (or electronically):	With respect to data recorded on paper (or electronically):	performed subsequent to the original request (not
	<ul> <li>\$2.74 per page for pages 1–10,</li> </ul>	■ \$2.74 per page for pages 1–10,	including copies of records already provided) to a
	<ul> <li>\$0.57 per page for pages 11–50, and</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>\$0.57 per page for pages 11–50, and</li> </ul>	patient or patient's representative, if the record is necessary to support a claim for Social Security disability benefits and the request is accompanied by documentation that the claim has been filed.  Ohio Rev. Code § 3701.741 (C)(1)(e) (2008).
	<ul><li>\$0.23 per page for pages 51 and up.</li></ul>	\$0.23 per page for pages 51 and up.	
	With respect to data resulting from an x-ray, MRI or CAT scan and recorded on paper of film, \$1.87 per page.	With respect to data resulting from an x-ray, MRI or CAT scan and recorded on paper of film, \$1.87 per page.	
	The provider or medical records company may also charge the actual cost of any related postage incurred.	The provider or medical records company may also charge the actual cost of any related postage incurred.	
	Ohio Rev. Code § 3701.741(A) & (B)(1) (2008).	Ohio Rev. Code § 3701.741(A) & (B)(1) (2008).	
	The director of health may adjust these fees annually based on the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers, prepared by the U.S. Department of Labor.	The director of health may adjust these fees annually based on the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers, prepared by the U.S. Department of Labor.	
	Ohio Rev. Code § 3701.742 (2008).	Ohio Rev. Code § 3701.742 (2008).	
	A health care provider may also enter into a contract with a patient, a patients' personal representative or an authorized person for the copying of medical records at a fee other than provided above.	A health care provider may also enter into a contract with a patient, a patients' personal representative or an authorized person for the copying of medical records at a fee other than provided above.	
	See Ohio Rev. Code § 3701.741(E) (2008).	See Ohio Rev. Code § 3701.741(E) (2008).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Oklahoma	A doctor may charge a copying fee that cannot exceed \$1.00 for the first page and \$0.50 for each subsequent page. The doctor may also charge a patient for the actual cost of mailing the medical records, but may not charge a fee for searching, retrieving, reviewing, and preparing medical records of the person.	A hospital may charge a copying fee that cannot exceed \$1.00 for the first page and \$0.50 for each subsequent page. The hospital may also charge a patient for the actual cost of mailing the medical records, but may not charge a fee for searching, retrieving, reviewing, and preparing medical records of the person.	N/A
	The maximum cost for a copy of an x-ray or other photograph or image is \$5.00 or the actual cost of reproduction, whichever is less.  Okla. Stat. tit. 76, § 19(A)(2) (2008).	The maximum cost for a copy of an x-ray or other photograph or image is \$5.00 or the actual cost of reproduction, whichever is less.  Okla. Stat. tit. 76, § 19(A)(2) (2008).	
Oregon	Health care providers are permitted to charge reasonable costs for responding to requests for health information, including the following maximum copying fees:  \$30.00 for copying pages 1–10;  \$0.50 per page for pages 11–50; and  \$0.25 per pages 51 and up.	Health care providers may charge the following maximum copying fees:  \$30.00 for copying pages 1–10;  \$0.50 per page for pages 11–50; and  \$0.25 per pages 51 and up.	N/A

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Oregon (cont.)	Providers may also charge:	Providers may also charge:	N/A
	<ul> <li>A bonus charge of \$5.00 if the request for records is processed and the records are mailed by first class mail within 7 business days after the date of the request;</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>A bonus charge of \$5.00 if the request for records is processed and the records are mailed by first class mail within 7 business days after the date of the request;</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Postage costs to mail copies of the requested records;</li> </ul>		
	<ul> <li>Actual costs of preparing an explanation or summary of the health information; and</li> </ul>		
	<ul> <li>Actual costs of reproducing films, x- rays, or other reports.</li> </ul>		
	Or. Rev. Stat. § 192.521 (2007); Or. Admin. R. 847-012-000(4)-(5) (2008).		
	Patients may not be denied summaries or copies of their medical records because of inability to pay.		
	Or. Admin. R. 847-012-000(4)-(5) (2008).		

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Pennsylvania	Health care providers and facilities may charge a patient or the patient's representative a fee for copying their medical records.  See 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 6155(b)(1) (2007).  As of January 1, 2008, the maximum copying fees permitted are:  \$1.28 per page for pages 1–20;  \$0.95 per page for pages 21–60; and  \$0.32 per page for pages 61 and up.  Charges may also be accessed for the actual cost of postage, shipping, and delivery.  This fee schedule is subject to annual adjustment by the Pennsylvania Secretary of Health.  37 Pa. Bull. 6356 (December 1, 2007).  See 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 6155(b)(1) (2007) (fee charged for copying a patient's medical records cannot exceed permissible fee for responding to a subpoena for medical records); 42 Pa.  Cons. Stat. § 6152(a)(2) (2007) (permissible fee for responding to subpoena for medical records is set by	Health care providers and facilities may charge a patient or the patient's representative a fee for copying their medical records.  See 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 6155(b)(1) (2007).  As of January 1, 2008, the maximum copying fees permitted are:  \$1.28 per page for pages 1–20;  \$0.95 per page for pages 21–60; and  \$0.32 per page for pages 61 and up.  Charges may also be accessed for the actual cost of postage, shipping, and delivery.  This fee schedule is subject to annual adjustment by the Pennsylvania Secretary of Health.  37 Pa. Bull. 6356 (December 1, 2007). See 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 6155(b)(1) (2007) (fee charged for copying a patient's medical records cannot exceed permissible fee for responding to a subpoena for medical records is set by	A provider may charge a specified flat fee for copying medical charts or records requested for supporting a claim or appeal under the federal Social Security Act or any federal or state financial needs-based benefit program). This fee is subject to annual adjustment by the Pennsylvania Secretary of Health. In addition to the flat copying fee, providers may also charge a fee for the actual cost of postage, shipping, or delivery.  42 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 6152.1(a)(1) (2007) As of January 1, 2008, the flat fee for producing records for Social Security is \$24.08.  37 Pa. Bull. 6356 (December 1, 2007).

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Puerto Rico	A physician may charge a patient a reasonable copying cost for the patient's medical record up to \$0.75 per page. However, the maximum total fee for a copy of the medical record is \$25.00.  P.R. Laws Ann. tit. 24 § 3049(e) (2005).	A medical-hospital institution hospital may charge a patient a reasonable copying cost for the patient's medical record up to \$0.75 per page. However, the maximum total fee for a copy of the medical record is \$25.00.  P.R. Laws Ann. tit. 24 § 3049(e) (2005).	N/A
Rhode Island	Physicians may charge a reasonable fee for copying medical records which may not exceed:  \$0.25 per page for pages 1–100, and \$0.10 per page for pages 101 and up.  R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-37-22(d) (2008) (allowing reasonable fee as defined by director of health); R.I. Gen. Laws § 23-1-48; R.I. Code R. 14 140 031 § 11.2 (2008) (setting per-page fee).  There are, however, circumstances in which physicians may not charge copying fees, including for records requested for continuity of care, immunization records, and records to support a claim or appeal under the provision of the Social Security Act or any federal or state needs-based benefit.	Maximum copying fees are not set by statute or regulation for hospitals.  See R.I. Code R. 14 090 007 § 7.12 (2008).  There are, however, circumstances in which hospitals may not charge copying fees, including for records requested for continuity of care, immunization records, and records to support a claim or appeal under the provision of the Social Security Act or any federal or state needs-based benefit.	No copying fees allowed if the record is requested by the applicant or beneficiary or individual representing an applicant or beneficiary for the purposes of supporting a claim or appeal under the provision of the Social Security Act or any federal or state needsbased benefit program such as Medical Assistance, Rite Care, Temporary Disability Insurance, and Unemployment Compensation.  R.I. Code R. 14 090 007 § 27.13 (2008).

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
South Carolina	A physician may charge a fee for searching for and copying a medical record. The maximum fees are:	A health care facility may charge a fee for searching for and copying a medical record. The maximum fees are:	N/A
	• \$0.65 per page for pages 1–30,	<ul> <li>\$0.65 per page for pages 1–30,</li> </ul>	
	<ul><li>\$0.50 per page for pages 31 and up, and</li></ul>	<ul><li>\$0.50 per page for pages 31 and up, and</li></ul>	
	\$15.00 for searching and handling.	\$15.00 for searching and handling.	
	They may also charge the actual cost for postage and sales tax.	They may also charge the actual cost for postage and sales tax.	
	S.C. Code Ann. § 44-115-80 (2007).	S.C. Code Ann. § 44-7-325(A) (2007).	
	Payment for all services related to medical record requests is due and payable at the time service is rendered. A physician may require payment in advance for a copy of the record.		
	S.C. Code Ann. § 44-115-110 (2007).		
South Dakota	A physician may require a patient to pay for the actual reproduction and mailing expenses incurred in providing a copy of medical records, reports, or x-rays.	A hospital may require a patient to pay for the actual reproduction and mailing expenses incurred in providing a copy of medical records, reports, or x-rays.	N/A
	S.D. Codified Laws § 36-2-16 (2008).	S.D. Codified Laws § 34-12-15 (2008).	

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Tennessee	Health care providers may charge reasonable copying costs which may not exceed:  • \$20.00 total for pages 1–40, and  • \$0.25 per page for pages 41 and up. Tenn. Code Ann. § 63-2-102.  Providers may also charge the actual cost of mailing.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 63-2-102 (2008).	Hospitals may charge reasonable copying costs which are presumed to be no more than:  • \$18.00 for pages 1–5,  • \$0.85 per page for pages 6–50,  • \$0.65 per page for pages 51–200, and  • \$0.35 per page for pages 201 and up.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-11-304(a)(2)(A) (2008).  Hospitals may also charge actual costs of postage. In addition, they may charge up to \$20.00 for each record certified.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-11-304(a)(2)(A) (2008).	A hospital may not impose a charge on an indigent person for furnishing the person, or the person's attorney or authorized representative, with a health record or part of a health record for the purpose of supporting a claim or appeal under any provision of the Social Security Act.  Such a request must be accompanied by a copy of a recent application seeking benefits under the Social Security Act or a copy of a recent decision denying such benefits. Patients being represented by organizations whose purpose is to provide legal assistance to the indigent or represented by attorneys with an affiliated pro bono program are presumed indigent. A hospital may demand reasonable proof of indigency from any other patient not so represented by submission of a specified form.

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Tennessee (cont.)			If a copy of the patient's medical records has been previously provided without charge to an indigent patient or the patient's attorney or authorized representative, the hospital is not required to provide an additional copy of the same records without charge. A hospital must furnis a health record requested pursuant to this section within 30 days of the request.
			Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-11-304(a)(2)(B) (2008).
Texas	A physician may charge no more than the following maximum allowable fees for copying records:	A hospital may not charge a fee for allowing a patient to examine the patient's own health care information.	Health care providers and health care facilities may not charge for a copy of a medica
	• \$25.00 for pages 1–20;	Tex. Health & Safety Code Ann. §§ 241.154(b) and 241.154(d)(2) (2007)	or mental health record requested by a patient, their lawyer, or other authorized
	<ul><li>\$0.50 per page for pages 21 and up;</li></ul>		
	• \$15.00 for affidavit, if any;	As of October 2007, a hospital may charge up to the following maximum fees	representative for use in
	<ul> <li>Reasonable cost-based fee for</li> </ul>	for copying health information:	supporting an application for disability benefits or other
	preparing summary of records; and	<ul><li>\$40.06 for pages 1–10 and retrieval</li></ul>	disability based assistance or
	<ul><li>Postage costs, if any.</li></ul>	or processing;	an appeal relating to denial o
	They may not charge costs associated with searching for and retrieving the	\$1.35 per page for pages 11–60;	those benefits or assistance under:
	requested information.	■ \$0.67 per page for pages 61–400; and	
	·	\$0.35 per page for pages 401 and up;	

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Texas (cont.)	The physician is entitled to payment for the copies prior to releasing them, unless the information is needed to provide emergency or acute medical care.  22 Tex. Admin. Code § 165.2(e)–(g) (2008); see also Tex. Occ. Code Ann. § 159.008 (2007) (physician may charge a reasonable fee for copying medical records).	<ul> <li>\$1.00 for affidavit or certification of documents;</li> <li>\$13.55 for set of written responses to written set of questions; and</li> <li>Actual cost of mailing, shipping, or delivery.</li> <li>This fee is updated annually.</li> <li>Tex. Health &amp; Safety Code Ann. § 241.154(b), (d)(2) (2007), as updated by the Texas Department of State Health Services, effective 10/19/2007 (http://www.dshs.state.tx.us); see also Tex. Civ. Prac. &amp; Rem. Code § 22.004(a) (2007) (charge for certifying records, referenced by Texas Department of State Health Services, above).</li> </ul>	Chapter 31, Human Resources Code of Texas (food stamps and financial assistance); the state Medicaid program; federal Social Security disability benefits; or disability-based Veterans' benefits.  Tex. Health & Safety Code Ann. § 161.202 (2007); Tex. Occ. Code Ann. § 159.008(b) (2007); 22 Tex. Admin. Code § 165.2(k) (2008).  To obtain a free copy, the patient or their representative must include with their request documentation from the department or agency that administers the assistance or benefits or confirms the application or appeal.  Tex. Health & Safety Code Ann. § 161.202 (2007).  The patient is entitled only to one complete record free of charge.

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Texas (cont.)			However, if subsequent material is added to the patient's record, the provider must supplement the record is provided without charge.
			Tex. Health & Safety Code Ann. § 161.202 (2007).
Utah	HIPAA-Covered Health Care Providers  Are required by state law to follow HIPAA's standards for inspecting and copying records.  Utah Code Ann. § 78B-5-618 (2008).  Non-HIPAA Covered Health Care Providers  May charge a reasonable fee to cover their costs.  Utah Code Ann. § 78B-5-618 (2008).	HIPAA-Covered Health Care Providers	_
		Are required by state law to follow HIPAA's standards for inspecting and copying records.	
		Utah Code Ann. § 78B-5-618 (2008).	
		Non-HIPAA Covered Health Care Providers	
		May charge a reasonable fee to cover their costs.	
	3	Utah Code Ann. § 78B-5-618 (2008).	
Vermont	For providing copies of an individual's health care record, a physician may charge no more than a flat \$5.00 fee or \$0.50 per page, whichever is greater.	For providing copies of an individual's health care record, a hospital may charge no more than a flat \$5.00 fee or \$0.50 per page, whichever is greater.	health care record requested to support a claim or an appeal
	"Heath care record" means all written and recorded health care information about an individual maintained by the physician.  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 18, § 9419 (2007).	"Heath care record" means all written and recorded health care information about an individual maintained by the hospital. Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 18, § 9419 (2007).	

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Virginia	A physician may impose a reasonable cost-based fee for copying a patient's health record, based only on these costs: (1) supplies and labor related to copying the health record; (2) postage; and (3) preparation of an explanation or summary of information as agreed to by the requestor.	A hospital may impose a reasonable cost- based fee for copying a patient's health record, based only on these costs: (1) supplies and labor related to copying the health record; (2) postage; and (3) preparation of an explanation or summary of information as agreed to by the requestor.	N/A
	Va. Code Ann. § 32.1-127.1:03 (J) (2008).	Va. Code Ann. § 32.1-127.1:03 (J) (2008).	
Washington	A provider may charge fees for copying the requested records.	A provider may charge fees for copying the requested records.	N/A
	For the period 7/1/2007 through 6/30/09, the maximum allowable fees related to copying are:	For the period 7/1/2007 through 6/30/09, the maximum allowable fees related to copying are:	
	• \$0.96 per page for pages 1–30;	■ \$0.96 per page for pages 1–30;	
	<ul><li>\$0.73 per page for pages 31 and up;</li></ul>	\$0.73 per page for pages 31 and up;	
	<ul> <li>\$22.00 clerical fee for searching and handling records; and</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>\$22.00 clerical fee for searching and handling records; and</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Usual fee for a basic office visit if the provider personally edits confidential information from the record, as required by statute.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Usual fee for a basic office visit if the provider personally edits confidential information from the record, as required by statute.</li> </ul>	

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Washington (cont.)	Wash. Admin. Code § 246-08-400 (2008); see also Wash. Rev. Code § 70.02.080(2) (2008) (health care provider may charge a reasonable fee for providing health care information); Wash. Rev. Code § 70.02.010(15) (2008) ("reasonable fee" is to be adjusted biennially by the secretary of the state health department). A provider is not required to permit examination or copying of patient health care information until these fees have been made.  Wash. Rev. Code § 70.02.080(2) (2008).	Wash. Admin. Code § 246-08-400 (2008); see also Wash. Rev. Code § 70.02.080(2) (2008) (health care provider may charge a reasonable fee for providing health care information); Wash. Rev. Code § 70.02.010(15) (2008) ("reasonable fee" is to be adjusted biennially by the secretary of the state health department).  A provider is not required to permit examination or copying of patient health care information until these fees have been paid.  Wash. Rev. Code § 70.02.080(2) (2008).	N/A
West Virginia	A provider may charge for the reasonable expenses incurred in providing a copy of a patient's health care record up to a maximum of \$0.75 per page for copying any record that is already in written form. Different fees may apply when an indigent person requests records to support a claim or appeal under the Social Security Act.  W. VA. Code § 16-29-2 (2008).	A provider may charge for the reasonable expenses incurred in providing a copy of a patient's health care record up to a maximum of \$0.75 per page for copying any record that is already in written form. Different fees may apply when an indigent person requests records to support a claim or appeal under the Social Security Act.  W. VA. Code § 16-29-2 (2008).	A hospital may not charge an indigent person for providing a copy of medical records necessary to support a claim or appeal under the federal Social Security Act. However, if the indigent person requests additional copies of the same records from the hospital, the additional copies are subject to the usual fees.  W. VA. Code § 16-29-2 (2008).

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
West Virginia (cont.)	_	_	An "indigent person" is someone who:
			<ul> <li>Is represented by an organization or affiliated pro bono program that provides legal assistance to indigents; or</li> </ul>
			Verifies on a medical records request and release form that the records are requested for purposed of supporting a Social Security claim or appeal and submits with the release form reasonable proof that the person is financially unable to pay full copying charges by reason of unemployment, disability, income below the federal poverty level, or receipt of state or federal income assistance.
			W. VA. Code § 16-29-2 (2008).

Appendix A — Overview and Detailed Tables

Table A-5. Overview of State Law: Maximum Fees Doctors and Hospitals May Charge Patients for Copies of Medical Records (continued)

State	General Request for Records: Medical Doctors (MDs)	General Request for Records: Hospitals	Requests for Records to Support Claim/Appeal Related to Social Security or Other Public Benefits: MDs and Hospitals
Wisconsin	The Department of Health and Family Services sets the maximum fees that a health care provider may charge for copying health care records. The fees are subject to adjustment every 3 years.  Effective April 1, 2007, the maximum copying fees permitted are:	The Department of Health and Family Services sets the maximum fees that a health care provider may charge for copying health care records. The fees are subject to adjustment every 3 years. Effective April 1, 2007, the maximum copying fees permitted are:	N/A
	<ul> <li>\$0.31 per page (other than for x-rays),</li> <li>Actual postage or delivery costs, and</li> <li>Sales tax (if any).</li> <li>Wis. Stat. § 146.83(3m)(b) (2007); Wis. Adm. Code HFS § 117.05 (2008).</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>\$0.31 per page (other than for x-rays),</li> <li>Actual postage or delivery costs, and</li> <li>Sales tax (if any).</li> <li>Wis. Stat. § 146.83(3m)(b) (2007); Wis. Adm. Code HFS § 117.05 (2008).</li> </ul>	
Wyoming	A physician may establish reasonable charges, and charge a patient for the actual costs incurred in responding to a patient's request for copies of any portion of a patient's medical record. Such costs may include the cost of copies, clerical staff time and the physician's time in reviewing and summarizing the records and/or x-rays and diagnostic records, if necessary.  A patient may not be denied a summary or a copy of requested medical records because of inability to pay.  024-052-003 Wyo. Code R. § 4(e) (2008).	The hospital may charge a reasonable fee, not to exceed the hospital's actual cost, for providing the health care information and is not required to permit examination or copying until the fee is paid.  Wyo. Stat. Ann. §35-2-611(b) (2008).	N/A