Certification Programs & Policy

Topics in This Section

ONC Certification Programs to Help Providers Choose EHR Technology

The ONC Certification Program provides a defined process to ensure that EHR technologies meet the standards and certification criteria adopted by the Secretary of HHS to help providers and hospitals achieve Meaningful Use objectives and measures established by CMS.

Standards and Certification Criteria

The standards and certification criteria established by ONC set the required capabilities and related standards and implementation specifications that certified electronic health record (EHR) technology will need to include in order to, at a minimum, support the achievement of meaningful use by eligible professionals and eligible hospitals under the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs.

Read the Rule [PDF - 477KB]

Certified Health IT Product List (CHPL)

Search the Certified Health IT Product List for EHR technology (Complete EHRs and EHR Modules) that has been tested and certified under the ONC Certification Program.

More about the CHPL

Latest News and Program Updates

Looking for the latest news about the ONC HIT Certification Program or information about Program Updates, including new proposed rules?

Latest News & Program Updates

ONC Certified HIT

The ONC Certified HIT Mark (Mark) is available to represent products that have been certified by an ONC-ACB under the ONC HIT Certification Program and meet the 2014 Edition Standards and Certification Criteria. For more information, please see the Criteria and Terms of Use for the ONC Certified HIT Certification and Design Mark [PDF - 201 KB].

Frequently Asked Questions

Get answers to frequently asked questions about the standards and certification criteria, certification process for EHR technology, and ONC’s health IT certification programs and Certification Bodies and Testing Laboratories.

Read the FAQs